Florida College Access Network (FCAN) recently announced the recipients of its second annual Innovator Awards.

Award winners are typically recognized during a special luncheon at the annual FCAN Summit, which was canceled this year due to COVID-19. As a result, we are pleased to celebrate this year’s honorees virtually!

2020 College Ready Florida Innovators

The College Ready Florida Innovator Award recognizes those trying new approaches to help students get into and pay for college while increasing the effectiveness of FCAN’s College Ready Florida initiatives: Apply Yourself Florida, Florida FAFSA Challenge, Florida College Decision Day, and Plan It Florida.

FCAN’s 2020 College Ready Florida Innovators are:

Dr. Khristi Keefe, Early College Program School Counselor, Robert E. Lee High School, Duval County
Dr. Sherrie Poitier-Liscombe, School Counseling Director, Broward County Public Schools & E&D Department, Broward County
Mark Vianello, Executive Director, Career and Technical Education, Marion County Public Schools, Marion County

Watch the videos to learn more about each of this year’s honorees and their innovative projects.



Dr. Khristi Keefe 

Dr. Keefe created a strategic approach to build a college-going culture at Robert E. Lee High School through college- and career-focused activities with students and families.




Dr. Sherrie Poitier-Liscombe 

Dr. Poitier-Liscombe worked to expand Broward County’s Last Chance College & Career Bound Summit, and ensured it was more inclusive for students to explore multiple postsecondary pathways.




Mark Vianello

Mr. Vianello worked to make a cultural shift in Marion County’s approach to postsecondary options and student success by equipping students with the tools necessary to identify the right postsecondary path for them.

2020 Workforce Education Innovators

The Workforce Education Innovator Award recognizes schools, communities, business leaders, and professionals who strive to prepare students of all ages for the education and careers that are right for them, especially in high-demand fields.

FCAN’s 2020 Workforce Education Innovators are:

Dr. Michelle Horton, Director of Complete Florida and Assistant Vice President of Online Innovation, Complete Florida
Mitch Heater, Career Specialist, Broward County Public Schools & E&D Department, Broward County
Julia Kasper, BRACE Advisor, South Plantation High School, Broward County

Watch the videos to learn more about each of this year’s honorees and their innovative projects.



Dr. Michelle Horton

Dr. Horton worked to increase Complete Florida’s student retention rates to 70% and enrollment by 14% through individualized coaching.





Mitch Heater

Mr. Heater worked to ensure students in the juvenile justice system were exposed to college and career opportunities by mobilizing the community.




Julia Kasper

Ms. Kasper created partnerships to bring more job shadowing and apprenticeship opportunities to students. She also introduced the first EMT program into a traditional high school in Florida.

Please join us in celebrating the 2020 College Ready Florida and Workforce Education Innovators!

About the Innovator Awards

The Innovator awards were created in 2019 to recognize the many college access and success practitioners throughout Florida who go above and beyond to find fresh ways to help students prepare for their education beyond high school that will lead to a rewarding career.  The awards also sought to inspire education stakeholders with ideas to try in their own community. 

To find out more about the awards, please see the College Ready Florida Innovator and Workforce Education Innovator announcements.

Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to content