The News-Press recently featured a series of editorials from eight different leaders of the FutureMakers Coalition on the significance of the regional effort to boost postsecondary attainment rates.

The leaders who expressed the importance of the FutureMakers Coalition’s vision and goals included Sarah Owen, President and CEO of the Southwest Florida Community Foundation; Eric Berglund, Executive Director of the Southwest Florida Economic Alliance; Jonathan Romine, Principal and Director of Landscape Architecture at EnSite, Inc.; ; Bill McCormick, Director of Fort Myers Technical College; Scott Bass, Superintendent of the Glades County School DistrictBrent Kettler, Director of the Hendry County Economic Development CouncilAysegul Timur, Dean of the Johnson School of Business at Hodges University; and Ali Medico, Student at Lemon Bay High School.

“There can be no doubt that the future of our region is dependent on a vibrant talent pool,” said Sarah Owen, President and CEO of the Southwest Florida Community Foundation, the backbone organization for the FutureMakers Coalition, in a video interview on “The FutureMakers Coalition is dedicated not to starting something new, but connecting the great things that are already happening across our region.”

The FutureMakers Coalition is a five-county local college access network in Southwest Florida dedicated to increasing the proportion of certificate and degree holders in the region to 40 percent by the year 2025.

Visit to access the complete series of editorials offering unique perspectives from Southwest Florida “FutureMakers.”


Pin It on Pinterest

Skip to content